Friday, July 11, 2014

2. First Meal!

The local Harley Davidson shop
The most important purchases...


First real meal!


Takadanobaba Station




Japan McDonalds World Cup burger



Tuesday, July 1, 2014

1. Departure and Arrival!

Luggage for six months.
Early morning Sea-Tac
The last view of Washington

Enjoying some nice empty space in San Diego


The first bit of Japan




A delicious looking kebab cart waiting outside my station

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Earthquake!

For those of you who only see this and not my facebook, Dorothy and I are fine! We got the first train home, we are safe, but there are still a lot of aftershocks and we are ready for another big one.

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Dear blog, I'm really not forgetting you I promise.

I haven't been blogging much lately because I havent' done THAT much since the last blog. Dorothy has just started her new job, so she has been working rediculous hours, and her schedule is pretty much she works every other day. Sometimes she works a full day, which is nice because it gives me time to do homework. And sometimes she only work a half day, like today, I am going to meet her in Shibuya at 3 and then we will begin our adventures for the day.


So I shall pick up right where I left off. Shibuya & Harajuku.
Right outside the Shibuya station is the famous statue of Hachiko. It was sort of awkward getting my picture with it, because there were actually a few families trying to get a picture with it too.
We then crossed the "BIGGEST PEDESTRIAN CROSSING IN THE WORLD" which I didn't even realize was what it was. We weren't there at rush hour, so I guess that might explain why it didn't live up to all its hype? I didn't even take a picture of it because I didn't realize what it was, but I might today.
Our first stop in Shibuya was the Shibuya 109 shopping center.  I definitely might be coming back for a few things there haha. It's the mecca of Japans "Gal" fashion, which I used to really follow, though now not so much.
The view from 109

We then just wondered around Shibuya  a little bit. Stopped by the Marui department store, and mens 109, which didn't have too much mens clothes haha.  And then we walked over to Harajuku, which is a nice short walk. On our way to Harajuku, we went into this little Lovers House store (A brand I've loved for EVER) and it was a TINY little store, with two sales people in it and no customers. We didn't even get an "IRASSHAIMASE!"(welcome to the store) or anything. We just turned right around and left, but then we went into one of their stores in the La Foret store, and the people there were REALLY nice and helpful.
On our way to La Foret, we went down the famous Takeshita-dori

It's a fairly long street with no cars, just lined with tons of little stores. We stopped by the Bodyline store, and a used Vivienne Westwood store, both of which we will probably be back to.
And then we went to La Foret, which was pretty much more than I expected.


And then the next day was AGE- Asia Girls Explosion, a fashion show put on by X-Japans Yoshiki. One of Dorothy's friends from school got a big group together, and got us these special "Foreigners are Free" Invitations. So we got in free to a $130 a ticket show. Pretty much amazing.

On our way to Harajuku for the show, we stopped by this little bakery on the way to the station. They had chocolate coronets, and I couldn't help but do a little Lucky Star pose with it


We met up with the rest of the group in Takadanobaba, and then headed to Harajuku. The show was at the Yoyogi Gymnasium, and outside there were tons of hide cosplayers. Neither of us had the courage to ask for pictures, but I did snipe a pictures of these two


The doors didn't open until almost an hour late. We had no idea what kind of tickets we had gotten, since they were free we expected to be up in the bleachers.
How wrong we were.
Photos inside were STRICTLY forbidden, but let me put it into perspective.
Check this link.  At the bottom center of the picture, the guy in the white shirt was with us. To the right of the picture is the end of the runway. Yeah, we were AS CLOSE AS POSSIBLE. 
The show itself was really cool. Though we could tell right away that there was something in the middle of the end of the runway, since a few bands (including X Japan) were going to play at the end. And it only took until the second model down the runway for her to FALL INTO IT. omg it was hilarious, I'm sure she was told a MILLION times not to walk in the middle.
And then after the fashion portion, some DJs, Violet UK, and X Japan played. Sadly, X only played their newer stuff, and only about 4 songs, but Yoshiki's piano was what was under the thing that the model fell into, which was right infront of us, which was amazing.
Yoshiki's Piano in the background. Even though the show was over, we still get yelled at for this picture haha. I'm pretty sure it's because the flash went off though.
Outside with the posing with the sign

And then we went to McDonalds for delicious midnight snacks. And then I experienced the horrible smell of late night trains. The whole car just REEKS of alcohol, it's pretty hilarious.

Monday was just a nice relaxing day. Dorothy and Marco had bought tickets to a concert way before they knew when I was coming, so they had a little date night. And then on Tuesday Dorothy worked a loong shift, so I worked on school stuff.

And then yesterday we ventured out to Kichijoji.

Kichijoji is where the Ghibli Museum is, but we didn't go there this time, since we will probably be going with our friend Mikaela when her friends get here.
In Kichijoji is a gorgeous park. Of course, the first thing we did when we got there was get soft serve.
I got Sakura flavor, it was DELICIOUS
This park actually had a lot of dogs, which I though was really nice. One of the main things that strikes me about Japan and dogs is that at the grocery store, there is a bigger selection of dog toilet pads than there is of dog food. So, it's nice to actually see people taking their dogs out.

But they are still always wearing dog clothes. 

Kichijoji is also a kind of entertainment district too I think.
This was one of the cute little streets we went down.
And then we just walked around a lot of little shopping streets. Until we found a HUMONGOUS Seiyu department store. Which of course we had to go play in. 
This is me on my way to my first day of school HAHA. These backpacks are all you see little kids with, they cost about $300, but they are meant to last a kid through their whole elementary school years. And the you see kids everywhere wearing this hat when they are walking home from school.

Dorothy found a Chopper hat.


And then also in Kichijoji, we went to this HUMONGOUS electronics store. But the only thing we went there for was toys. I found this gem, that's is Lucky Star characters in Street Fighter costumes, I had to work long and hard to talk myself out of buying this haha


And that was our day yesterday.

Today I will be adventuring out on the trains all by myself to meet Dorothy in Shibuya after she's off of work. Wish me Luck! Thankfully everything is in English, but I have to transfer trains in Ikebukuro, which is one of the biggest stations.

Saturday, March 5, 2011

DAY TWO: TAKADANOBABA & IKEBUKURO
On my first full day, Dorothy had to go to her school to fill out some of her papers. Her school is in Takadanobaba, so we took the train there and walked to her school. On the way back to the train station, we saw this little shrine, which I thought was really pretty




I'm sure we'll be going back to Baba a few times.
And then we adventured off to Ikebukuro, which is a really big entertainment district. We didn't really go around very much, we just went to the shopping center called "Sunshine City," but there was a lot of others things to do in Ikebukuro which we will be back for.

Also, the second movie for the anime Macross Frontier is just coming out, so there is a lot of advertisment for it. It's one of my favorite animes that I have cosplayed from, so it's really exciting to see it everywhere.  Right outside one of the arcades we passed in Ikebukuro, they have these two posters outside, which are signed by the voice actors I believe.
The only thing I bought in the whole shopping center was a Hello Kitty jacket that was half off. I was really proud of myself LOL. But there is a Ghibli store in this center, so I'm pretty sure I will be back towards the end of my trip when I see how much money I have left.


DAY THREE: ASAKUSA
Asakusa is a really big Buddhist temple that is a pretty big tourist destination for both foreigners and Japanese people. My attempt right now is to have one day where I might go shopping, and then one day where I will just go to temples or go sight seeing, so  less money is spent. That attempt has been pretty successful so far, all  I really spent in Asakusa was money on food, and one little souvenir.

Here are some pictures of the walk on the way from the train station to Asakusa.


As you are approaching the temple
The first entrance gate.
After you go through the first entrance gate there is a long line of little shops selling tons of little souvenirs and food
We got these little treats, I forget what they are called but they had red bean paste in the middle. Yummy!
 There are a bunch of little cross streets along the bigger one with more little shops.




This is the second entrance gate once you get past all the little stores


The backside of that gate, with some Gods shoes, we aren't sure whos.
 On our way back to the train station, we noticed this whole line of characters, outside of what we assume is the Bandai building.  Of course we had to take pictures with them.
 Me and Doraemon, Ultraman, Kamen Rider, and Anpanman.


There are some more pictures that I didn't post on my flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanasaurusrex/

Next Post will be my first trip to Shibuya and Harajuku, and whatever exciting things we do today. Today is Dorothy's first day of work, so I am just staying home and working on homework (obviously HAHA) and tomorrow is ASIA GIRLS EXPLOSION fashion show. I know I will have TONS of pictures from that.